3327. Duty of driver in emergency response areas.
(a) General rule.--When approaching or passing an emergency response area, a person, unless otherwise directed by an emergency service responder, shall:
(1) pass in a lane not adjacent to that of the emergency
response area, if possible; or
(2) if passing in a nonadjacent lane is impossible, illegal or unsafe, pass the emergency response area at a careful and prudent reduced speed reasonable for safely passing the emergency response area.
(b) Penalty.--Any person violating subsection (a) commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, pay a fine of not more than $250.
"Emergency response area." The area in which emergency service responders render emergency assistance to individuals on or near a roadway or a police officer is conducting a traffic stop or systematic check of vehicles as long as the emergency vehicle is making use of visual signals meeting the requirements of Subchapter D of Chapter 45.
"Emergency service responder." An individual acting in an official capacity as police officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, coroner, deputy coroner, firefighter, fire police, fire marshal, medical examiner, deputy medical examiner, rescue personnel, ambulance personnel, towing and recovery personnel, highway maintenance and construction personnel, hazardous material response team member or emergency medical service personnel.
Pennsylvania DOT Urges Drivers to Move Over, Slow Down for Tow Trucks
If you come upon an incident along the side of the road that involves an emergency responder, please remember to Steer Clear.
Please remember under Pennsylvania’s Steer Clear Law, motorists are required to move at least one lane away from the incidents.
Emergency responders can include: law enforcement, tow truck operators and other emergency personnel.
If you cannot move over because of traffic or other conditions, you must reduce your speed.
Failure to move over or slow down will not only result in a citation that carries a fine of up to $250, but drivers cited for traffic violations in these situations will face double fines. If that violation leads to a worker being injured, a 90-day license suspension could result.